Last Updated: October 27, 2026 by Pratham Agarwal, Rasp International

The short answer
Support for Emerging Export Opportunities, launched by Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT) Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 dated 6 March 2026, helps an Indian bank confirm a letter of credit (LC) for a Micro, Small or Medium Enterprise (MSME) whose buyer is in one of 72 under-served markets. Under it, the Export-Import Bank of India (Exim Bank) may cover up to 100 percent of the bank’s risk, backed 10 to 80 percent by a government trust. Your bank applies.
The rule that decides everything: your own bank must apply. Exim Bank takes proposals only from a scheduled commercial bank that has signed a risk sharing agreement with it, under Annexure II paras 3(c) and 8(b) of Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26.
Verified as on 27 October 2026 against DGFT Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 dated 6 March 2026, the Exim Bank Guidelines for Lending Institutions, DGFT Trade Notice No. 29/2026-27 dated 1 October 2026 and the Exim Bank and NCGTC websites. Written by Pratham Agarwal, Founder, Rasp International.
72
countries covered, Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 Annexure VII
100%
of the LC value confirmed, Exim Bank guidelines para 8(a)
10% to 80%
of transaction value the trust backs, Annexure II para 5
Score 60
lowest risk score that qualifies, Annexure II para 5
| Scheme | Support for Emerging Export Opportunities |
|---|
| Part of | Niryat Protsahan, the trade finance arm of the Export Promotion Mission (EPM) |
|---|
| Run by | Exim Bank with the National Credit Guarantee Trustee Company (NCGTC) |
|---|
| Legal basis | Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 and Exim Bank’s lender guidelines under its Annexure IV |
|---|
| Who it is for | MSMEs with a valid Importer Exporter Code (IEC) not in the Denied Entity List (DEL) and a valid Udyam number |
|---|
| What you get | An LC confirmed or negotiated by an Indian bank |
|---|
| Cap | No rupee cap per exporter; exposure caps under Annexure II para 6 |
|---|
| Validity or window | Pilot, no end date printed. The Unique Identification Number (UIN) lapses at the financial year end (Annexure II para 7(c)) |
|---|
| Where you apply | You: DGFT portal. Your bank: Exim Bank’s Trade Assistance Programme (TAP) portal |
|---|
Why this page exists
Exim Bank’s page for this facility says exporters often struggle to get an LC confirmed when the buyer is in a new or high-risk market. The DGFT form is titled Intent to Claim (Annexure V), but no cash is paid: the frequently asked questions (FAQ) on the TAP portal say the scheme gives no direct loan or cash subsidy to exporters.
Rasp International is an ISO 9001:2015 certified export and import (EXIM) and DGFT advisory firm founded in 2019 that has served 500 plus exporters. It files in the client unit’s own name.
What Support for Emerging Export Opportunities is
Support for Emerging Export Opportunities is a risk sharing facility that takes part of an Indian bank’s payment risk when it confirms or negotiates a trade instrument for an MSME export to an under-served market, run by Exim Bank with NCGTC under Niryat Protsahan, the trade finance arm of the EPM.
A confirmed LC adds an Indian bank’s own promise to pay to the buyer’s bank’s promise. Banks refuse when they have no room left on the buyer’s bank or country; this facility gives them that room by scaling up Exim Bank’s existing TAP. NCGTC’s website now lists the trust among those it manages.
What you get, and what your bank gets
Your letter of credit is confirmed for 100 percent of its value, and your bank cannot come back to you if the buyer’s bank fails to pay a complying presentation.You get an LC confirmed for 100 percent of its value (Exim Bank guidelines para 8(a)), non-recourse (Annexure II para 2): your bank cannot come back to you if the buyer’s bank fails to pay a complying presentation.
| Who | What they get | Source |
|---|
| You | LC confirmation, LC negotiation or a Usance Payable at Sight (UPAS) LC | TAP portal FAQ |
| Your Indian bank | A Stand-by Letter of Credit (SBLC) up to 100 percent, Risk Participation (RP) up to 90 percent or an Irrevocable Reimbursement Undertaking (IRU, marked upcoming on the TAP portal) up to 100 percent of the LC | Exim Bank guidelines paras 4(a) and 8(b) |
| Exim Bank | The trust’s backing for 10 to 80 percent of the transaction value | Annexure II para 5 |
How the risk score sets the trust’s share and the fee
Exim Bank scores each deal on country and issuing bank risk (guidelines para 5(b)); higher means safer. Figures from Annexure II para 5 and Annexure IV para 7(c):
| Score | Trust’s share | Fee a year |
|---|
| 60 to 64 | 80 percent | 2.50 percent |
| 65 to 69 | 75 percent | 2.25 percent |
| 70 to 74 | 70 percent | 2.00 percent |
| 75 to 79 | 60 percent | 1.75 percent |
| 80 to 84 | 50 percent | 1.50 percent |
| 85 to 89 | 40 percent | 1.25 percent |
| 90 to 94 | 30 percent | 1.00 percent |
| 95 to 97 | 20 percent | 0.75 percent |
| 98 to 100 | 10 percent | Below 0.5 percent |
Illustrative example: a 100,000 US dollar (USD) LC from a Kenyan bank scores 76. Under Annexure II para 5 the trust carries 60 percent (USD 60,000) and USD 40,000 stays with Exim Bank or the Indian bank.
The exposure caps in plain words
Annexure II para 6 lets the trust carry at most 10 times its corpus, the maximum liability permissible (MLP), with four caps inside it.
| Cap | Share of the MLP | What it means for you |
|---|
| Country | 15 percent | All live cover for one country |
| Exporter | 5 percent | All live cover linked to you |
| Transaction | 1 percent | One LC |
| Issuing bank | 10 percent | All LCs from one foreign bank |
Who can apply and who cannot
Your bank applies for the risk share; you file the DGFT intent and get the UIN.Who can use it
- An MSME with a valid IEC not in the DEL and a valid Udyam number (Annexure II para 1(a)).
- Exporting goods permitted under the Foreign Trade Policy (FTP), outside the Annexure VI exclusion list.
- Selling to an Annexure VII country through a bank that has signed a Master Risk Participation Agreement (MRPA) or Confirming Bank Agreement (CBA) with Exim Bank.
| Region | Countries in Annexure VII |
|---|
| Africa (31) | Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia |
| Asia (16) | Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Fiji, Indonesia, Jordan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam |
| Latin America (15) | Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru and Suriname |
| Europe and Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) region (10) | Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Türkiye, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan |
Who cannot use it
- A firm that is not an MSME or whose IEC is in the DEL.
- A firm under investigation or with penalties due (Annexure V declaration).
- A buyer outside Annexure VII, such as in the United Arab Emirates or the United States.
- Prohibited goods, sanctioned countries and restricted items without their export conditions (Annexure VI).
- A deal scoring below 60 (Annexure II para 5).
Documents that get it through
| Document | What the bank or Exim Bank checks | The mismatch that brings a query or rejection |
|---|
| Intent form, DGFT portal (Annexure V) | Products, Harmonised System (HS) codes, target markets, instrument sought | Market or instrument differs from the actual LC |
| IEC profile and bank account | Auto-filled into Parts A and D, not editable | An old address or account flows in; update the IEC first |
| Udyam registration | A valid number (Annexure II para 1(a)) | Not valid on the day of the intent |
| The buyer’s LC | Irrevocable, subject to the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits (UCP 600), guidelines para 1(e); in US dollars or Indian rupees, TAP portal FAQ | Another hard currency only case by case; an issuing bank without an Exim Bank limit stops it |
| Annexure V declarations (items 1, 2 and 6) | No investigation, penalty due or other scheme support for the same activity | A pending customs penalty or support already taken makes the declaration untrue |
| Shipping documents | A strict match with the LC terms, TAP portal FAQ | A discrepancy lets the buyer’s bank refuse |
How to apply, stage by stage
Before you apply
1
Check the country, the product and the buyer
Match the country to Annexure VII and the goods to Annexure VI, then run our new overseas buyer checks.
2
Put your IEC and portal access in order
The DGFT user manual for the EPM module (version 1.0) asks for an active IEC with DEL status N, a validated bank account and a Digital Signature Certificate (DSC) or Aadhaar e-sign.
3
Ask your bank whether it will apply
Any scheduled commercial bank may join (TAP portal FAQ). Exim Bank’s press release on the 2 June 2026 workshop names CBAs signed there with Bank of Baroda, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India, and MRPAs with Punjab National Bank, Tamilnad Mercantile Bank and Union Bank of India.
4
Agree the LC terms with your buyer
Ask for an irrevocable LC under UCP 600 in US dollars or Indian rupees, per the TAP portal FAQ.
Filing
5
File the intent on the DGFT portal
Open Services, then Export Promotion Mission, then Support for Emerging Export Opportunities. Submit the Annexure V details to get the UIN.
6
Hand the UIN to your bank with the LC
Under Annexure II para 8, the bank checks your creditworthiness and applies to Exim Bank on the TAP portal.
After filing
7
Exim Bank and NCGTC decide
Para 5(c) of the Exim Bank guidelines sets Exim Bank and NCGTC a target of four working days from a complete proposal. It is not a promise.
8
Ship and present clean documents
If the buyer’s bank fails to pay a complying presentation, your Indian bank claims from Exim Bank, not from you.
The lapse rule: file the intent first (Annexure V(a)). The UIN lapses at the end of the financial year or 12 months from submission, whichever is earlier (Annexure II para 7(c)). Whether an LC confirmed before you had a UIN can be brought in is not stated, so check with your bank.
Your bank will not confirm your buyer’s LC
When you engage us, we prepare and file the DGFT intent end to end in your unit’s own name, ready for your bank.
Where it goes wrong
| Failure | What you see | What actually broke |
|---|
| You write to Exim Bank | You are sent back to your bank | The partner bank applies (Annexure II paras 3(e) and 8(b)) |
| Buyer outside the list | Not eligible | Annexure VII names 72 countries only |
| LC in euro | Held for a separate decision | The TAP portal FAQ covers US dollars and Indian rupees now |
| Bank not signed up | The branch has not heard of it | No MRPA or CBA with Exim Bank (guidelines paras 1(d) and 4) |
| Old UIN | The bank asks for a new one | Annexure II para 7(c) ends it at the financial year end |
| Score below 60 or a cap full | A decline although your papers are fine | Annexure II paras 5 and 6 |
How it fits with other schemes
Annexure V declaration item 6 bars support already taken or sought under another central or state scheme for the same activity.
| Scheme | What it does | How it sits with this facility |
|---|
| Interest subvention | 2.75 percent a year off rupee export credit, benefit capped at Rs 50 lakh a financial year, Trade Notice No. 20/2025-26 para 2 | Allowed separately (Annexure II para 3(f)) |
| Collateral support | Cover to the lender on export working capital, Trade Notice No. 21/2025-26 | Protects your loan, not the buyer’s bank’s payment |
| Export factoring support | Subvention on factoring cost, Trade Notice No. 25/2025-26 | Factoring cost, not LC payment risk |
| RELIEF Component II | Resilience and Logistics Intervention for Export Facilitation: Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India (ECGC) cover up to 95 percent of loss on Gulf and West Asia shipments, Notification No. 65/2025-26, to 31 March 2027 by Notification No. 37/2026-27 | Egypt and Jordan, added by Notification No. 11/2026-27, are on both lists |
| Uttar Pradesh ECGC premium reimbursement | Up to 30 percent of ECGC premium back, Government Order No. 830/18-4-2025 | Refunds ECGC premium, not a confirmation charge |
Emerging Export Opportunities compared with ECGC cover
| Point | Emerging Export Opportunities | ECGC exporter policy |
|---|
| Who is protected | The bank that confirms | The exporter |
| Risk covered | The buyer’s bank not paying | Buyer default and political risks, LC opening bank risk if chosen |
The two do not stack on one payment: clause 11 of ECGC Form No. 101, the Shipments (Comprehensive Risks) policy, leaves payments under an irrevocable LC confirmed by a bank in India out of the invoice value it covers. See our trade finance and ECGC page and our EPM overview of every trade notice.
What Support for Emerging Export Opportunities will not do
1
It will not put money in your account
The TAP portal FAQ says the scheme gives no direct loan or cash subsidy to exporters.
2
It will not cover a sale without an LC or a bad presentation
It works only on the bank instruments in Annexure II para 2, so open account sales and discrepant documents sit outside it.
3
It will not force anyone to say yes
Your bank runs its own credit check, and the trust may reject any proposal even when it meets the norms (Annexure IV para 2(b)).
How Rasp International handles Support for Emerging Export Opportunities
When you engage us, we prepare and file the DGFT intent end to end, always in your unit’s own name, or guide your team to file it. We sign a non-disclosure agreement (NDA) and a service level agreement (SLA) with every client. Both sides hold the portal logins, kept safe and confidential, with documents in encrypted storage. We give an authority letter only on request. We hold no customs broker (CHA) licence; licensed CHA partners across India handle customs clearance. Read how we work.
Selling to a new market on LC terms
Send us the buyer’s country, your product and your bank’s name, and we will tell you what the Trade Notice says.
What Is Not Yet Notified, Checked on 27 October 2026
- The trust’s corpus is not published, so no cap can be put in rupees. Check with Exim Bank or NCGTC.
- No annual cap per exporter is notified, though Annexure III para 1(d) asks the Sub-Committee on Trade Finance to recommend one. Check with the EPM Section of DGFT.
- Who bears the risk participation fee is not stated. Check with your lending bank in writing.
- Services exports are unclear: the intent form says products or services, the eligibility clause says goods. Check with the EPM Section of DGFT.
- Exim Bank’s scheme page counts 15 for Europe and the CIS region, but its map names the same 10 countries as Annexure VII. Rely on Annexure VII and check with Exim Bank if in doubt.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Support for Emerging Export Opportunities scheme?
It is a risk sharing facility under the Export Promotion Mission, launched by DGFT Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 dated 6 March 2026. Under it, Exim Bank, backed by an NCGTC trust, covers part of an Indian bank’s risk when it confirms an LC for an MSME export to 72 listed markets.
Can an exporter apply directly to Exim Bank for this cover?
No. The exporter files an intent on the DGFT portal and gets a UIN. The exporter’s bank then applies to Exim Bank after its own credit check, under Annexure II para 8 of Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26. The TAP portal serves banks.
Which countries are covered under Emerging Export Opportunities?
Annexure VII of Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 lists 72 countries: 31 in Africa, 16 in Asia, 15 in Latin America and 10 in the Europe and CIS region, including Nigeria, Kenya, Bangladesh, Vietnam and Brazil. It is reviewed periodically, so recheck it.
Why will my bank not confirm my buyer’s letter of credit?
Often the bank has no exposure limit left on the buyer’s bank, or little appetite for that market, as the TAP portal page and its FAQ describe. Give the bank your UIN and ask it to seek Exim Bank cover; it can still decline after its own credit check.
Who pays the risk participation fee?
The Trade Notice does not say. Annexure IV para 7(c) sets the fee by risk score, from 2.50 percent a year down to below 0.5 percent, and leaves its calculation to each bank’s agreement with Exim Bank. Ask your bank in writing whether any part reaches you.
How long is the UIN valid?
Annexure II para 7(c) of Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 keeps the intent valid until the end of the financial year or 12 months from submission, whichever is earlier, which in practice means 31 March. File a fresh intent for the next financial year.
Can I use it with interest subvention or ECGC cover?
Annexure II para 3(f) allows interest subvention separately under other EPM interventions. ECGC cover is a different product that insures the exporter. The intent declaration bars support for the same activity under another central or state scheme, so check each combination with your bank.
What happens if the buyer’s bank does not pay?
If your presentation complied with the LC, the Indian confirming bank honours it and claims from Exim Bank, and the trust reimburses Exim Bank its share. Annexure II para 2 calls the mechanisms non-recourse. Discrepant documents fall outside that protection.
What if Exim Bank or NCGTC turns down the proposal?
The trust may reject any proposal even when it meets the norms, under Annexure IV para 2(b), and a score below 60 is ineligible under Annexure II para 5. No appeal route is printed. Your options are another issuing bank, another instrument or another partner bank.
Do I need a consultant to file the intent?
No. Any eligible MSME can file the intent on the DGFT portal with its own login and a digital signature or Aadhaar e-sign. Rasp International can prepare and file it end to end in your unit’s own name, or guide your team to file it.
Sources
- Tier 1. DGFT Trade Notice No. 32/2025-26 dated 6 March 2026: content.dgft.gov.in.
- Tier 1. Exim Bank Guidelines for Lending Institutions (undated): eximbankindia.in.
- Tier 1. DGFT Trade Notices No. 29/2026-27 dated 1 October 2026, No. 20/2025-26 and No. 21/2025-26 dated 2 January 2026 and No. 25/2025-26 dated 20 February 2026: DGFT trade notices; DGFT scheme page; DGFT EPM Module user manual V1.0, January 2026: content.dgft.gov.in.
- Tier 1. Exim Bank: eximbankindia.in; TAP portal FAQ; 2 June 2026 workshop press release: eximbankindia.in.
- Tier 1. NCGTC organisation page: ncgtc.in.
- Tier 1. DGFT Notifications No. 65/2025-26 dated 19 March 2026, No. 11/2026-27 dated 17 April 2026 and No. 37/2026-27 dated 30 September 2026 (RELIEF): DGFT notifications.
- Tier 1. ECGC Form No. 101, Shipments (Comprehensive Risks) Policy: ecgc.in.
- Tier 1. Government Order No. 830/18-4-2025 dated 6 November 2025, Government of Uttar Pradesh: UPEPC government orders page.
This is general guidance. Rules change. Check the current notification or trade notice, or speak to us, before you act.
Related: Export Promotion Mission guide | Trade finance and ECGC cover | RELIEF for Gulf and West Asia shipments